

## January, 2022

## Monthly Insights

## Achievements

Prof. Stella J presented a paper titled, "Fruit Recognition Supremacy Using Raspberry-Pi" at the International Conference on Computer and Engineering (ICET-21) on 11 December 2021.

Prof Stella J. completed an AICTE-ISTE-sponsored six-day Refresher Program on "Cyber Security and Ethical Hacking" organized by the Computer Engineering Department of Xavier Institute of Engineering from 10-15 January 2022.

Prof. Jaya Jeswani also completed the AICTE-ISTE-sponsored sixday Refresher program on "Cyber Security and Ethical Hacking" organized by the Department of Computer Engineering, Xavier Institute of Engineering from 10-15 January 2022.

## **Events & Activities**

The Department of Information Technology organized an ISTE approved online FDP on 'Web X.0 schedule' from 03- 08 January 2022. 30 faculty members of different colleges availed of the benefit of this FDP. The IT Department also organized a Faculty Orientation Program for the newly introduced subject in Sem VI R-19 Scheme, 'Web X.0' in collaboration with Mumbai University on 6th January 22 from 3:00 to 5:00 pm, under the coordination of Prof. Martina D'souza and Prof. Sulochana Devi.

The Computer Society of Xavier's (CSX) organised a workshop named "Path to Python" on 15th January 2022 from 10:30 am to 6:30 pm. A total of 125 students participated in this workshop. The speaker for this workshop was a BE-IT student, Mr. Himanshu Gharat. The workshop was organised with an aim to make the students familiar with and show the path towards the basics of python and the use of Google colab. This event was organized under the guidance of Prof. Jyotsna More and Prof. Teena Varma in coordination with all the CSX members.

The Computer Society of Xavierites (CSX) organised a quiz competition named "Rapid Thinker" on 22nd January 2022 from 3:00- 6:00 pm coordinated by Ms. Anisha Prabhu and Mr. Bhanu Sunka. The winners of this competition were Mr. Pon Adityan Jeyamurugan from FE, Ms. Trupti Pawar from SE-IT and Mr. Rahul Gaikwad from TE-IT who bagged the 1<sup>st</sup> place in their respective categories. The runners-up were Mr. Mark Fernandes from FE, Mr. Vanraj Pardeshi from SE-IT and Mr. Ajit Jena from TE-IT.